Backyard Burn Season Has Been Delayed

***As of December 1, Cal Fire has not lifted the burn ban yet, so no burning is allowed until further notice. Any permit applications will be invalid until burn ban has been lifted.***

Monterey Bay Unified Air Pollution Control District and the State of California have adopted certain requirements which must be followed during the open burning of agricultural and other wood wastes. Even if you have been issued a permit from your fire district, you must also comply with the following requirements:
 
You may burn on “permissive burn” days only. You may not burn on “no burn” days. You can learn the burn status each day by calling 1(800)225-BURN (2876) or visit them online at www.mbuapcd.org.
 
Then, you must complete and submit a burn permit.

  • Material to be burned bust not contain other debris, such as garbage, tires, plastics, paper, cardboard, lumber, or any other form of refuse.
  • Material to be burned must be well dried
  • Branches, etc. over 2 inches diameter - at least 60 days
  • Branches, etc. under 2 inches diameter - at least 30 days
  • Green cuttings (e.g., flowers) - at least 10 days
  • Material to be burned must be arranged in piles so as to minimize smoke production. Generally, this means, piles must be small to allow for adequate air supply to prevent smoldering and poor combustion.
  • You may not use oil, tires, lumber, paper, or other forms of non-vegetative material to ignite or sustain a fire.

These requirements are enforced by the Air Pollution Control District, and you may be charged a fine for violations.
 
If you have any questions on whether your proposed burn complies with these requirements, please don’t hesitate to call the Air Pollution Control District, Enforcement Division, at (831) 647-9411.

En Espanol

REQUISITOS PARA INCINDIOS LIBRES
 
El Distrito de Contol de Polucion de Aire del Estado de California ha adoptado ciertos requisitos que se deben de seguir durante la quemadura de desperdicios de agricultura y otros desperdicios de madera que sean permitidos por la proteccion de fuegos local. Aun cuando a usted se la ha entregado un permiso atraves del distrito de bomberos, usted debe de cumplir con estos requisitos:
 
Debe de quemar en los dias “permisivos de quemar” solamente. No debe de quemar en los dia de “no quemar”. Usted puede saber las condiciones del dia para quemar llamando al:
1(800)225-BURN (2876)
 
El material para quemarse no debe de contener fragmentos, tales como basura, llantas, plastico, papel, carton, madera u otro tipo de basura.
 
El material para quemarse debe de estar bien seco
 
Ramas, etc. mas de 2 pulgadas de diametro - por lo menos 60 dias
Ramas, etc. menos de 2 pulgadas de diametro - por lo menos 30 dias
Recortes verdes (ejemplo: flores) - por lo menos 10 dias
 
El material para quemarse debe de ser colocado en montones para disminuir la produccion de humo. Esto quiere decir que los montones deben de ser pequenos para permitir abastecimiento de aire adecuado y prevenir combustion.
 
No debe de usar aceites, llantas, madera, papel, o otras formas de material no vegetable para prender o mantener el fuego.
Estos requisitos son ejecutados por el Control de la Contaminacion del aire del Distrito, y puede ser multado por violaciones.
 
Si tiene alguna pregunta o dudas si usted cumple con los requisitos, por favor no deje de llamar al Control de la Contaminacion del air del Distrito, Division de Ejecucion al (831) 647-9411, o a su Distrito de Bomberos local.